Music of César Franck freely arranged for organ or harmonium
by Gerard Carter Op. 3
César Franck (1822–1890) wrote twelve major works for the organ and numerous harmonium pieces. He is regarded as the most important composer for the organ after Bach and the greatest composer for the French symphonic organ. The serene anxiety and ethereal beauty of the compositions of the ‘Fra Angelico of the organ’ make them a touching accompaniment to meditations on the Stations of the Cross. Gerard Carter’s free arrangement for organ or harmonium of some of César Franck’s most sublime music makes it available in a practical and convenient form for the Stations of the Cross and for other liturgical, devotional and musical purposes.

  • Introduction. Chorale No. 1 in E major [opening] and Prière [opening] for organ.
  • Jesus is condemned to death. Chorale No. 1 in E major [maestoso] for organ.
  • Jesus is made to carry his cross. Chorale No. 3 in A minor [E minor version of chorale] for organ.
  • Jesus falls the first time. Danse lente for piano.
  • Jesus meets his afflicted mother. Chant de la creuse for harmonium, and Chorale No. 2 in B minor [Largamente con fantasia] for organ.
  • Simon of Cyrene carries the cross. Chorale No. 3 in A minor [A major version of chorale] for organ.
  • Veronica wipes the face of Jesus. Prelude, Fugue & Variation [bridge passage and opening of fugue] for organ and Chorale No. 2 in B minor [second chorale] for organ.
  • Jesus falls the second time. Chorale No. 3 in A minor [A minor version of chorale] for organ.
  • Jesus meets the daughters of Jerusalem. Vieux Noël for harmonium and Chorale No. 2 in B minor [non troppo dolce, and 1o Tempo ma un poco meno lento] for organ.
  • Jesus falls the third time. Chorale No. 2 in B minor [first chorale] for organ.
  • Jesus is stripped of his garments. Noël Angevin for harmonium.
  • Jesus is nailed to the cross. Allegretto in F minor for harmonium.
  • Jesus dies on the cross. Prière in E minor for harmonium.
  • Jesus’ body is taken down from the cross. Poco allegretto in G flat major for harmonium.
  • Jesus is laid in the sepulchre. Chorale No. 3 in A minor [Adagio] for organ.
  • Conclusion. Amen for harmonium.
  • The Performance and Interpretation of Franck’s Organ Works

Spiral Bound Sheet Music 34 pages 297 x 210 mm
ISBN 978-3-8442-1577-9 RRP EUR 30

Gerard Carter studied César Franck’s organ works with Maître Jean Langlais in Paris in 1980 and played the Chorale no. 1 in E major on the beautifully harmonised, historic Cavaillé-Coll organ in the Basilica of Ste Clothilde, Paris. César Franck presided at the tribune of Ste Clothilde for thirty-two years and composed and performed his greatest compositions on that organ. Maître Langlais was titulaire at Ste Clothilde, succeeding Dr Charles Tournemire who was César Franck’s last pupil. Both Tournemire and Langlais were distinguished organists, composers and teachers. Gerard Carter also studied organ with Mr Alan Moffat who was a prominent Sydney organist and authority on the French symphonic organ and its literature. Gerard Carter is the author of two publications on César Franck’s organ works. He has issued a CD of his performance of Franck’s Chorale no. 3 in A minor and Cantabile on the 1890 Théodore Puget Père et Fils organ at Kincoppal-Rose Bay Chapel, Rose Bay. He has also issued a CD of his performance of the Chorale on the 1883 Hill & Son organ at St Augustine’s Church, Balmain, where he was organist for a number of years in the 1980s. Gerard Carter is currently organist at the Church of the Good Shepherd, Ashfield, where a two-manual organ built in 1962 by George Fincham & Sons, Melbourne, speaks to a magnificent acoustic.


   Price: 30 EUR
 also available at